TaxDome logo

Help Center

Sign up Log in

Move documents and folders, and change their visibility

Organize documents and folders by moving them within a client account or between accounts, and by changing folder visibility settings . Firm owners, admins and team members with the Manage documents access right can move documents and change folder visibility.

Move docs between folders

To move documents and folders to another folder within a client account:

  1. Select the checkbox next to the documents and folders you want to move, then click Move. To select all items, select the uppermost checkbox.

  2. Go to the folder you want to move your items to, or create a new folder for them, then click Move.

You can also move a single document from the viewer: click the Move icon at the top right or select Move from the three-dot menu.

To keep documents and folders within the same client account, leave the destination account unchanged.

note icon

Note

Documents that are locked to an invoice or pending approval or signature stay in folders with the same access level.

Go to the client’s Accounts screen, tap the client, then open the Documents tab. Tap a document to open it, tap the three dots at the top right, then select Move—or long-tap the document in the list and select Move—to transfer it to another folder or client account.

Move docs with drag-and-drop (Beta)

wip icon

Work in progress

The functionality is being developed and currently available for Beta users. Docs on using the feature are being prepared.

You can also move documents and folders within a client account by dragging them in the documents list and dropping them onto another folder. You can drag one or more documents, folders with their contents, or a mix of both. The same rules apply as when you use the Move button.

Drag-and-drop works in Clients > Accounts > Docs > Documents and in Documents > Clients docs > Docs after you select the account.

Move docs between client accounts

Clients with multiple accounts sometimes upload documents to the wrong account, and team members may upload to the wrong account through TaxDome Drive or the virtual printer. To fix this, move the documents and folders to the correct client account.

Moving documents and folders between client accounts starts the same way as moving them within a single client account . After you click Move, also select the destination account.

note icon

Note

Documents that are locked to an invoice, pending approval or signature, or transferred to DATEV stay in their client account. When linked documents are moved to another client account, they are unlinked from associated jobs and tasks and removed from linked chats and organizers.

To copy files from one client account to another, duplicate them, then move the copies to the other client account.

Move folders with the same name

When you move a folder or file into a location that has one with the same name, the moved item replaces the existing one. For example, folder 1 and folder 2 have the same nested folder with the same files (such as f4010.png). If you move the nested folder from folder 2 to folder 1, it replaces the existing one. Files in the nested folder from folder 2 that aren’t in the nested folder from folder 1 (such as Onboarding checklist.pdf) are added.

Change permission level of documents and folders

The top-level folder a document is in determines its default client access. To change the visibility of documents and folders, move them from one top-level folder to another. Documents that are locked to an invoice or pending approval or signature stay in their top-level folder.

Firm owners and admins can also set individual permissions for folders and documents.

Move a subfolder to another default folder to change its access level—for example, from Client uploaded documents to Firm docs shared with clients or Private.

Change visibility of top-level folders

To change the visibility (access level) of a top-level folder, click the three dots to the right of the folder name, then select Edit. Change the Privacy setting, then click Submit. The visibility icon updates.

note icon

Note

The visibility of the default client folder stays fixed. Each client account needs at least one folder with the Client can view and edit image access level. This gives clients a predictable place to upload, view and download documents, and to access them when they’re locked to invoices, pending approval or awaiting signature.

Was this article helpful?

Share

Link copied Share on linkedin Share on facebook